Coron y Castell Challenge Cup


The handicapped heats at Tan y Castell culminate in the Coron y Castell Cup final. These include a special 'functional' trophy of an engraved saucepan for the Sospan Fach top graded heat.

Visitors from the Midlands seem to thrive on the sea air at Tan y Castell, and the Staffordshire and Derbyshire based stables of Kelly Rushton with Disturbin (Top Grade FFA winner 2008 and Sospan Fach 2009 and 2010); Chris Heaton and Louise Fresson with Peaks Pastime (Top Grade heat in 2007 and 2008) and Vyrnwy Fantasy (heat winner 2009) and Lyn and Sarah Mould (Delboy II, heat and final 2009) have all been regular and welcome occupiers of the winner’s enclosure.

In 2010, after winning two heats, the Haythornthwaite's formidable Lancashire team scored a memorable 'One-Two' taking first and second place in the final with Gonastray (Alan Haythornthwaite) and Temple Bar (Richard Haythornthwaite).

In 2011 however, the Coron y Castell Cup came home to Ceredigion following the success of local hero, Briwyns Thatslife, owned and trained by the Richards family in neighbouring Bow Street. It remained in Ceredigion following Meadowbranch Josh's win. However it returned to the Midlands in 2013 with the Cooper family owners of Rhyds Panache. 

Coron y Castell Cup winners:

2007: Lyons Mach One (Steve Lees) owned by the Mound family, trained by Steve Lees; North Wales.
2008: Dawbank (Phil Mather) owned and trained by The Mather Family, Manchester.
2009: DelboyII (Sarah Mould) owned by David Corbett, trained by Lyn Mould; Staffordshire.
2010: Gonastray (Alan Haythornthwaite) owned by L. Harbour, trained by Theresa Haythornthwaite; Lancashire.
2011: Briwyns Thatslife (Sarah Allen) owned and trained by the Richards family, Bow Street, Ceredigion.
2012: Meadowbranch Josh (Patrick Morris) owned and trained by D T Morgans, Rhyd y Felin, Ceredigion

2013: Rhyds Panache (David Bevan) owned by Ray Cooper, trained by David Bevan, Builth


Back to top


Enjoy a fun day out with the family

Click here

Ceredigion Council Logo EU Logo Welsh Government Logo