The Clive Davies Memorial Cup and Class C Drivers Race

Two key feature races in the Tan y Castell racing calendar are the Clive Davies Memorial Cup and the Class C Drivers Race.

The Clive Davies Memorial Cup

This is a much prized trophy awarded to the winner of the Clwb Cardigan Bay Members' race, in fond memory of the late, great Clive y Gof.

First won by Alun Jones of Tregaron, following his success with Briwyns Jasper in 2011. Previous Clwb Cardigan Bay Members winners at Tan y Castell are:

2007: Blackfield Jazz (Alan Brown) owned by A.Lewis; trained by Alan Brown, Lampeter.
2008: Ja Ja Binks (Wesley Jones); owned and trained by W. Jones & J. MaGuire.
2009: Symlog Blackberry (Mark Pritchard), owned by P.O. Davies; trained by M.G. Richards, Bow Street.
2010: Fool Around (Rhys Evans) owned and trained by Huw Evans, Tregaron.
2011: Briwyns Jasper (Rhys Evans) owned and trained by Alun Jones, Tregaron
2012: Baby Rosa (Rhys Evans) owned by H. Evans; trained by Rhys Evans, Tregaron

2013: Hilltop Skipper (Marc Pritchard) owned and trained by P.O Davies

Class C Drivers Race

Previous winners of the Symlog Challenge Trophy for amateur drivers:

2008: Young Will (Meirion Davies) owned and trained by Andrew Rees, Rhayader.
2009: Immortal Bestofall (Jed Strickland) owne & trained by B&M.Strickland, Bristol.
2010: Meadowland Tom (Kayleigh Evans) owned by RBT syndicate, trained by Mike Evans, Penuwch.
2011: Dead Heat between:
Chinatown Lucky (Garry O' Grady) owned by Chinatown Stud; trained by Alun Jones, Lampeter, and Wellfield Bonzo (Kelly Wakefield) owned & trained by David Corbett
2012: Cam Shaft (Stuart Harris) owned and trained by J.D Davies

Back to top


Enjoy a fun day out with the family

Click here

Ceredigion Council Logo EU Logo Welsh Government Logo